The Council has had a busy year – This report is a summary of the activities that the Council has undertaken over the last year, April 2009 to March 2010.


Your Councillors remain as Cllrs Angela Ballard, Jack Fryer, Colin Hales and Jon Haworth – Mark Sullens was co-opted to replace Peter Terry in March 2010.

Jack Fryer was re-appointed Chairman in May 2009 and Colin Hales Vice Chairman.


Karen Parnell continues in her role of Clerk to the Council. In order to develop her skills further she has just been awarded the Certificate of Higher Education in Local Policy and Community Development.


The Council has continued to meet every other month usually on the second Tuesday of the month (actual dates are posted on the notice board). Our meetings are well supported by District Councillors Kim James, Brian Slaughter and Daren Pemberton and by County Councillor Peter Barnes who attend regularly and impart knowledge and advice.

The council meetings are open to the public and provide an opportunity to ask questions on any issue relating to the village and generally to find out what is going on in the area. We look forward to more people from the village making use of this facility in the future.

What have we done?

Village maintenance has been assessed continuously and a number of projects have been completed, highway maintenance and grass cutting are frequently assessed and the parish council has a good and communicative relationship with the district and county councils.

Traffic calming remains an issue the council are committed to address. We have facilitated a speed visor for a six month period, as well as continuing to liaise with the county council on the Speedaware programme. We have enabled the temporary speed visor on rotation with other parishes, posters around the village on speed reduction and more frequent visits and feedback from the police.

We fully support the village hall committee in the effort to improve the village hall and promote activities therein on our website and in our newsletter.

The council now owns the red phone box and future usage of this is currently being considered.


We have assessed and provided local input on a number of planning applications.
Wixford Parish Councils stance is in capitals.

23rd April 2009
Mr & Mrs Hosking
Wixford Villa, Wixford.
Single storey side extension.
Granted with conditions

2nd June 2009
Mr And Mrs Turner
Icknield House, Wixford, Alcester, Warwickshire B49 6DD
Alterations to form additional accomodation over existing garage including steeper roof and closing in of drive through access. Form new gated access to rear yard.
LBC also Granted with conditions
Granted with conditions

5th August 2009
Mr M Kent
Horseshoe Cottage, Wixford, Warwickshire B49 6DA
Replacement of oak and elm timbers to rear of property and relevant panels.
Granted with conditions

14th Sept 2009
Cemex UK Materials Ltd
Extraction of minerals with restoration to agriculture and a pond.
At: Marsh Farm, Quarry Land North Of
Broom Lane, Dunnington OBJECT


27th Nov 2009
Mr Stanley Russell
Stone House, Wixford, Alcester, Warwickshire B49 6DA
Proposed two and single storey rear extensions and creation of open porch to side.

29th Jan 2010
Mr Mark Kent
Horseshoe Cottage, Wixford, Alcester, Warwickshire B49 6DA
Timber repairs to front (road side), replacement of window frames and doors and internal work to repair and make safe the cottage. SUPPORT

15th Feb 2010
Mr Stanley Russell
Stone House, Wixford, Warwickshire B49 6DA
Proposed two and single storey rear extensions and glazed canopy on side elevation OBJECT


For the year 2008-09 Wixford received an unqualified audit return from the external auditor.

Karen Parnell is the Responsible Financial Officer to the Council.

The precept was set in November 2009 at � 6000.

The budget has been set for 2010 – 2011

The Council reviewed its Financial Regulations, Risk Assessment and Fixed Asset Register at the January 2010 meeting.

The year end figures are available from the Clerk.

Communication with Parishioners

It is very important that the Parish Council communicates well with the Parish. Over the last year the Parish Council has done this in the following ways:

Public participation in meetings.

Regularly updated information on the notice board and Website, including agendas for meetings. The website is the most up to date communication from the parish council and community forums and police newsletters are added as soon as the information becomes available, as are planning decisions.

Newsletters published at least four times a year. Cllr Jon Haworth does an excellent job as Editor and the professional looking publication promotes many local activities and news stories. Input is sought from residents prior to publication.

The Clerk’s postal address, e mail address and telephone number are publicised on the noticeboard and on newsletters, as are the Councillor’s.

Cllr Colin Hales 01789 772343
Cllr Jack Fryer
Cllr Angela Ballard 01789 490254
Cllr Mark Sullens
Cllr Jon Haworth 01789 772732
Clerks Details:
Karen Parnell 01789 292968

Your Council and Clerk are here to help. Do not hesitate to contact us.

Signed: Jack Fryer Chairman – Wixford Parish Council

24th March, 2010